Meeting: Faculty Senate Date: September 2, 2008

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: Binnion 126 Adjournment: 4:05 p.m.

## **Minutes**

Members present: Wilson, Harp, Miskevich, Starnes, Ballotti, Creider, Hendricks, Espinoza, Vinaja, Dang, Smith, Horton, Mahan, Seminet, Odom, Dorsett, Druhan, West, Herndon, Schroeder, Sun, Singh (President), Openshaw & Hammack (Secretary)

Issue/Topic	Summary of Discussion	Decision/Action
Guests:	President Jones reported on the	
President Jones,	University's Legislative Priorities for the	
Interim Provost	81 <sup>st</sup> Session. These include: start-up	
and Vice	funds for a B.S. degree in Construction	
President for	Engineering, The Rayburn College for	
Academic	transfer students, and the College	
Affairs Hendrix,	Readiness Academy. Tuition Revenue	
and Bob Brown	Bond projects include: renovations to the	
	university library, and the E&G	
	Buildings.	
	President Jones is creating a Budget	
	Development Committee which will	
	include faculty member to strengthen the	
	connection between planning and	
	operations. Planning for 2009 budget	
	begins in September 2008.	
	Interim Provost Hendrix reported that the	
	Tenure Procedures will be made	
	consistent with the A&M System Tenure	
	Policy.	
	She also reported that the Deans are	
	meeting about a proposed two class days	
	per week schedule M, W 8-9:15-3:30-	
	4:45p.m. and Tues., Thursday format.	
	Three day per week schedules will still	
	be considered if the discipline can justify	
	it. Schedule change may be	
	implemented in the spring. This change	
	will not alter the schedule for evening	
	and weekend classes.	

Issue/Topic	Summary of Discussion	Decision/Action
Approval of		Both sets of minutes were
Minutes from		approved.
June 24, and		
July 15		
meetings		
	Dr. Singh explained that Serge von	
New Business:	Duvillard had resigned as Senate	
	President because of health reasons. Dr.	
	Singh who was President-elect will	
	assume the role of president this year.	
		Senator Hendricks
	Elections for President-elect	nominated John Smith for
		president-elect. Second:
		Senator Openshaw. John Smith was elected as
		President-elect for 2008-
		09.
	Election of Budget Development	Budget Development
	Committee Members	Committee members
	Committee Weinbers	from Faculty Senate are:
		Philippe Seminet-Lit &
		Lang., Lavelle Hendricks-
		COEHS, Randy Odom-
		CBT, (Alternate-Tim
	Faculty Senate Committees have been	Wilson-CBT)
	named. All senators must serve on at	
	least one senate committee. Chairs may	
	add other members if they so choose to	
	do so.	
	Amber Malloy is serving as GA for the	
	Senate. She can be reached at (903) 249-	
	3254 or at amaloy@leo.tamu-	
	<u>commerce.edu</u>	
	Barbara Hammack and Linda Openshaw	
	will share the secretary position.	

Issue/Topic	Summary of Discussion	Decision/Action
Old Business	Dr. Singh will send a report from the Students' Evaluation Committee-Appointed-July 2008. The Committee members were Chair: R.N. Singh, Kathryn Jacobs, Linda Openshaw, and Tim Wilson.	The Committee sent to Frank Ashley a list of ten evaluation questions that could be used as students evaluate faculty.
Communications	R. N. Singh, on behalf of Dave Crenshaw, attended a meeting with the Chancellor, Frank Ashley, and senate presidents from nine A&M System schools. A discussion of system-wide evaluation of teaching by students occurred. In the forthcoming Spring semester, all campuses will reward good teaching with monetary rewards. The legislature is looking at the tenure system and there is a move toward all faculty being responsible for a strong research based publishing agenda, and receipt of external funds through grants. Tenure issues may be addressed at the next legislative session.	