Skip to content


Here is a list of all the various programs available through Texas A&M University-Commerce in the EDCI Department.

Bilingual/ESL (EC-12)

Bilingual Education in Texas means instruction is provided in English and Spanish. If you are fluent and literate in Spanish, you can make a difference in a significant way through bilingual certification.

ESL (English as a Second Language) programs are for students whose native language is not English. ESL teachers do not have to know another language, but have a profound understanding of the English language learning process, and how to teach English Language Learners.  

Early Childhood (EC-6th)

Early Childhood educators are certified by the State of Texas to teach in pre-kindergarten through fourth grade public school classrooms. We offer initial certification with a Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies, or a Master of Education degree with a major in Early Childhood Education.

Middle Level (4th-8th)

A Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies prepares future educators to teach 4-8 grade levels. Students have several degree options in the 4-8 Middle Level program, including Mathematics, Science, History, or Language Arts.

Secondary (7th-12th)

In meeting the requirements for the bachelor's degree, the student may qualify for the Texas Standard Secondary Certificate upon completion of one of seventeen approved programs. At the graduate level, Secondary Education (SED) offers advanced programs in supervision, curriculum, and instruction which extend the knowledge and intellectual maturity of the student.

Below is a list of advisors and their programs.