Skip to content

Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society

Sigma Tau Delta was founded in May of 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan College by Dr. Judson Q. Owen. At present there are over 400 College and University chapters worldwide. Texas A&M University-Commerce holds the Upsilon Beta chapter of the international organization. The chapter is sponsored through the Department of Literature and Languages. Sigma Tau Delta has many awards and scholarships available for students, and is also an active part of many universities.

Sigma Tau Delta's central purpose is to confer distinction upon students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies. Sigma Tau Delta also recognizes the accomplishments of professional writers who have contributed to the fields of language and literature.

One of the largest members of the Association of College Honor Societies, Sigma Tau Delta has over 600 active chapters, more than 900 faculty sponsors, and inducts approximately 7,000 members annually. Our members have the opportunity to be recognized for their outstanding achievements, enrich their education, help them make career choices, and advance their careers.

For more information contact Dr. Tabetha Adkins.