Be part of our roaring Lion tradition of excellence in mathematics competition.

Math Bowl

Formerly known as the Calculus Bowl, Math Bowl is an annual mathematics competition hosted at the Mathematical Association of America’s Texas Section conference. The Math Club at A&M-Commerce has organized several first, second, and third-place Math Bowl teams in recent years. Read about our history of success at the Math Bowl competition.


The SIMIODE Competition Using Differential Equation Modeling (SCUDEM) is a modeling challenge where student teams choose a challenge problem pertaining to physics and engineering, chemistry and life sciences, or social sciences and humanities. The three-member teams develop a model using differential or difference equations and create a ten-minute video presenting their model. Read about our success at the 2021 SCUDEM competition.

Pathways Student Research Symposium

The Texas A&M University System Pathways Student Research Symposium is a student research showcase open to undergraduate and graduate students from all TAMUS institutions.


The Department of Mathematics offers four awards recognizing outstanding undergraduate and graduate mathematics students.

Learn more about qualifications for award winners.

Aslan Outstanding Graduate

  • Undergraduate Mathematics
    • 2022: Chris Clark
    • 2021: Mary Hurtado
    • 2020: Nicholas Arsenault
    • 2019: Micalyn Rowe
    • 2018: Lauren Melcher
    • 2017: Anna Martinez
    • 2016: Bradford Garcia
  • Graduate Mathematics
    • 2022: Katherine Foster
    • 2021: Caleb Donnenwerth
    • 2020: Taylor Kline
    • 2019: Ana Martinez
    • 2018: Mengzhe Chen
    • 2017: Laura Beene and Janessa Beach
    • 2016: Rebecca Steward

L3Harris Technologies Excellence in General Mathematics

  • 2022: Sarah Gross
  • 2021: Keynee Johnson
  • 2020: Samantha Trupia
  • 2019: Nicholas Arsenault
  • 2018: Zach Auringer
  • 2017: Dessie McFarland
  • 2016: Arianna Lira

Excellence in Mathematics Education

  • 2022: Trenna Gillett
  • 2021: Breanna Serna
  • 2020: Ronnie Taylor
  • 2019: Steven Lim
  • 2018: Dessie McFarland
  • 2017: Aidan Corrales
  • 2016: Daniel Rios

News Spotlights

Contact Us

  • P.O. Box 3011
  • Commerce, TX 75429-3011
Navigate This Page