A&M-Commerce Faculty Nominated for Chancellor’s Academy

Dr. Cheri Davis with the Department of Physics & Astronomy has been nominated for and appointed to the 2019-2020 Texas A&M University System Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators.

Since 2011, the Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators has honored teacher educators from Texas A&M System universities who significantly contribute to the field of teacher education, highlighting the role of the A&M System in producing K-12 teachers for the state of Texas.

Inductees are selected by past Academy members after university faculty, staff and students have had the opportunity to nominate full-time faculty members who make a significant impact on the education and preparation of teachers.

“I’m honored to receive this award and very much appreciate the amazing students who made it possible,” Davis said. “Teaching is an honor in itself and a calling for many people. I appreciate the privilege of working with students who will become the next generation of teachers.”

Honorees are awarded a $1,000 stipend, a commemorative medallion and a certificate honoring their commitment to educating the teachers of tomorrow.