KETR received four first-place honors in the 2012 Texas Associated Press Broadcasters awards. Matt Meinke won first and second place in actuality-production. First place in the website category went to, which is managed by Jerrod Knight and staff. First place in the serious feature category was awarded to Knight for his “Bob Aikin: In Memory.” First place in the light feature category was awarded to Knight and former KETR news director Scott Harvey for “The Lions Take New York.” In sports, KETR’s John Mark Dempsey, Kevin Jefferies and Harvey received honorable mention in the best sports play-by-play category.

Deborah Smith, administrative assistant, retired after 19 incredible years with the station.

Cristy Boucher comes to KETR from a university in New Hampshire and will take the reigns as administrative assistant.