Noteworthy-College of Education & Human Services

Dr. Henry H. Ross, instructor in the Department of Health and Human Performance, was recently chosen as the President-Elect for the Texas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (TAHPERD). TAHPERD is one of the largest membership-driven organizations in the state. Dr. Ross has served in several leadership positions within the organization and engaged in numerous professional presentations since becoming a member in 1999.

Dr. Curt A. Carlson, of the Department of Psychology, Counseling, and Special Education, is a cognitive psychologist, and he conducts experimental research in the area of eyewitness identification, emphasizing the roles of specific memory and decision-making processes. He recently received a grant from the American Psychological Association to support his research.

Dr. Barbara Hammack, Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, was selected into the Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators. The Academy is a recently-developed initiative of the Texas A&M University-System acknowledging teaching excellence. Only five faculty throughout the system were selected for this distinction this year.

Dr. Shonda Gibson, the Executive Director of Global Learning, Quality Enhancement Planning Coordinator and professor of Psychology and Management, has recently worked with two international students, Natalia Assis and Andrea Slobodnikova, to get them involved in research. Through this work, they were able to get their data published by twelve different publications. In addition, Dr. Gibson has been published by both the International Journal for Development Education and Global Learning and the International Journal of Business and Public Administration within the last year.

Betty A. Block, Department Head and Professor in the Department of Health and Human Performance, was awarded the 2012 National Distinguished Administrator Award from the National Association for Kinesiology in Higher Education for her outstanding leadership as an administrator in the field of kinesiology.

Dr. Maria Hinojosa, Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership, received the Distinguished University Faculty award at the Texas Association of Chicanos in Higher Education conference in January 2013. The award recognizes superior levels of professionalism and accomplishment in the areas of teaching, research, or service.

Dr. Brittany Hott, Assistant Professor of Special Education, received the Teacher Education Division Research Roundtable Award for “Effects of Response Methods on the Mathematics Performance of Secondary Students with Emotional or Behavioral Disorders.”

Dr. Madeline Justice, Professor in the Department of Educational Leadership—and who also received the Emotional Intelligence Personal Achievement award last year—made two presentations at the 10th Annual Institute for Emotional Intelligence this year