An education graduate with her preschool class

Department of Educational Leadership

The Educational Leadership Department is the largest graduate department at Texas A&M University-Commerce.  The department houses two doctoral programs, six masters programs, one undergraduate program, nine certification programs, and two graduate certificate programs.

The department is dedicated to addressing the needs of its diverse student population through the offering of courses in modes that are mindful of time, geographic, and economic constraints placed on these students.  In response to this obligation, a number of courses throughout the department have been modified to online or web-enhanced formats.  Additional courses are adapted for online delivery where appropriate to maximize accessibility for students and to alleviate barriers restricting enrollment in traditional courses.

The Department of Educational Leadership graduates more than 400 students each year and produces more than 15,000 semester credit hours (SCH). Faculty utilize a variety of innovative teaching processes to reach a diversified student population across the state.

Texas A&M University-Commerce has the highest graduation rate among Texas public institutions for doctoral programs. The Department of Educational Leadership ranks at the top in Texas in the preparation of K-12 Principals and second in the state in the preparation of K-12 Superintendents (Black Issues News Alert for 8/02/05). The department also ranks second in the state in the preparation of College Presidents (Lumsden & Lothringer, 2001).

Meet Our Faculty 

  • Glenda Holland

    Glenda Holland

    Professor and Department Head

  • Jon Travis

    Jon Travis, EdD

    Regent Professor

  • Joyce Scott

    Joyce Scott, PhD


  • Julie Ballenger

    Julie Ballenger, PhD

    Assistant Professor

  • Arthur J Borgemenke

    Assistant Professor

  • Mary Jo Dondlinger

    Mary Jo Dondlinger, PhD

    Ad Interim Professor

  • Deborah  Goodwin

    Deborah Goodwin, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • Kriss Kemp Graham

    Kriss Kemp Graham, PhD

    Assistant Professor

  • Chuck Holt

    Chuck Holt, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • Madeline Justice

    Madeline Justice, EdD


  • JoHyun  Kim

    JoHyun Kim, PhD

    Assistant Professor

  • Charlotte Larkin

    Charlotte Larkin, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • Derek Lester

    Derek Lester, PhD

    Assistant Professor

  • Richard Lumadue

    Richard Lumadue, PhD

    Assistant Professor

  • Melissa Arrambide

    Melissa Arrambide, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • Ava Munoz

    Ava Munoz, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • Jerome Nauyokas

    Jerome Nauyokas, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • William R Ogden

    William R Ogden, PhD

    Professor Emeritus

  • Warren Ortloff

    Warren Ortloff, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • Denise Pheils

    Denise Pheils, PhD

    Assistant Professor

  • Delores Rice, PhD

    Assistant Professor

  • Nathan R Templeton

    Nathan R Templeton, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • Ray Thompson

    Ray Thompson, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • James Vornberg

    James Vornberg, EdD

    Professor Emeritus

  • Mary Webb, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • Shari Farris

    Shari Farris, EdD

    Assistant Professor

  • Alan Francis

    Alan Francis, EdD


formatting image