A&M-Commerce Society of Physics Students Receive National Recognition

The A&M-Commerce chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the organization's national office. The designation is the highest level of distinction, with less than 15% of the organization's chapters receiving the title. The local chapter has been a Distinguished Chapter for the past six years consecutively.

The A&M-Commerce chapter is advised by Bahar Modir, Ph.D., an assistant professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Officers for the 2020-2021 academic year include Keely Scott, president; Madison Smith, vice president; Zorayda Martinez, secretary; and James Hiron, treasurer.

“I'm extremely impressed with the SPS officers and advisor this past year,” said Kent Montgomery, Ph.D., who serves as head of the department. “Throughout the pandemic and mostly online learning, this group kept the organization going when many other student organizations ceased to function. They held meetings and social functions, produced recruitment videos for the department and helped with Physics Day each semester.”

Operating within the American Institute of Physics, SPS is a professional association designed for students. Membership is open to anyone interested in physics and related fields.

Learn more about the Society of Physics Students.