Mitchell Named SLC Freshman of the Year, Five Earn All-SLC Honors

By Lion Athletics

FRISCO – In its first season in NCAA Division I and the Southland Conference, five members of the Texas A&M University-Commerce soccer team received all-conference recognition on Wednesday morning, highlighted by Mya Mitchell being named the conference’s Freshman of the Year.

Joining Mitchell (Dallas – Mesquite Horn) on the conference honor roll are Ashley Campuzano (Dallas – Atlas Prep) earning first team all-conference status, while Nya Mitchell (Dallas – Mesquite Horn), Mindy Shoffit (Wichita Falls – Rider), Mya Mitchell, and Karalie Morrison (Colleyville Heritage) earning second team all-Southland Conference honors.

A&M-Commerce went 7-8-2 this season overall and 7-4-1 in conference play, which was third best in the Southland Conference under first year coach Ashley Gordon. The Lions begin the postseason on Wednesday afternoon in Natchitoches, Louisiana, at the Southland Conference Tournament against Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at 4 p.m.

Mya Mitchell led the Southland Conference with eight goals and four assists during conference play. She had a scoring streak of six matches to start conference play, which was the second longest streak in NCAA Division I at the time. She also earned the SLC Player of the Week award once and is named to second team all-conference.

Mitchell’s freshman of the year award marks the second straight season that the Lions received that award, after Morrison was named the 2021 Lone Star Conference Freshman of the Year.

Campuzano averaged 86.5 minutes per played, playing mostly as an attacking midfielder. She recorded 2.7 shots per match in conference play, which was seventh in the SLC and totaled four assists during conference season, which ranks sixth. During SLC matches, she posted 11 points which is tied for ninth in the conference, being part of the offensive unit that is second during SLC play in scoring average.

Nya Mitchell played all 17 matches, logging 73.4 minutes per match in her freshman season. She was part of the back-four unit that allowed second-fewest goals during SLC matches. She played 90 minutes in all four shutouts this season.

Being named Southland Conference Defender of the Week twice during the regular season, Shoffit played every match, logging 73 minutes per match and scored two game-winners, which is second among all players during SLC games.

Morrison totaled 11 points in conference play, which was 10th among all players, scoring the game-winner at McNeese, and had three goals this season. She had five assists in conference play, which is second overall. Morrison has been named to all-conference teams for the second straight year.

Player of the Year: Gracie Armstrong, Northwestern State
Freshman of the Year: Mya Mitchell, A&M-Commerce
Newcomer of the Year: Gracie Armstrong, Northwestern State
Defender of the Year: Arely Alaniz, Lamar
Midfielder of the Year: Mya Guillory, Southeastern
Forward of the Year: Olivia Draguicevich, Northwestern State
Goalkeeper of the Year: Nicole Panis, Lamar
Coach of the Year: Nathan Kogut, Lamar

2022 Southland Conference Soccer All-Conference Teams
First Team

DArely AlanizLamarJr.Deer Park, Texas
DNicole Henry 4Northwestern StateGr.Tomball, Texas
DNatalee Henry 3Northwestern StateGr.Tomball, Texas
DKaisa Juvonen 3LamarSr.Tampere, Finland
MFMya Guillory 3SoutheasternSr.Prairieville, La.
MFAshley CampuzanoA&M-CommerceFr.Dallas, Texas
MFIsela RamirezLamarSo.Pflugerville, Texas
MFDelaney Wells 2Northwestern StateJr.Flower Mound, Texas
FOlivia Draguicevich 3Northwestern StateSr.Pflugerville, Texas
FChristine KitaruLamarGr.Nairobi, Kenya
FGracie ArmstrongNorthwestern StateGr.Broomfield, Colo.
FCariel EllisLamarSr.Madison, Miss.
GKNicole Panis 2LamarSr.Opmeer, The Netherlands

Second Team

DHallie Field 4Northwestern StateSr.Frisco, Texas
DMia Salas 2HCUJr.San Antonio, Texas
DKat LazorHCUJr.Missouri City, Texas
DNya MitchellA&M-CommerceFr.Dallas, Texas
DMindy ShoffitA&M-CommerceJr.Wichita Falls, Texas
MFRachel LoetzerTexas A&M-Corpus ChristiSo.Frisco, Texas
MFMolly ArensTexas A&M-Corpus ChristiJr.Belmont, NSW, Australia
MFKiana Kukaua 2McNeeseJr.Valencia, Calif.
MFTrinity ClarkLamarJr.Austin, Texas
FMya MitchellA&M-CommerceFr.Dallas, Texas
FMegan GuyTexas A&M-Corpus ChristiSo.Roanoke, Texas
FKeeley Ayala 3UIWGr.Wichita Falls, Texas
FKaralie MorrisonA&M-CommerceSo.North Richland Hills, Texas
GKChloe DeShazerNorthwestern StateR-Sr.Kansas City, Mo.

2 – Two-time All-Southland selection
3 – Three-time All-Southland selection
4 – Four-time All-Southland selection