Far-Arun Wins the Lady Red Wolves Classic in a Four-Hole Playoff

By Lion Athletics

JONESBORO, Ark. –Benz Far-Arun won the Lady Red Wolves Classic in thrilling fashion on Tuesday afternoon at Sage Meadows Club, securing the win in the fourth playoff hole.

After 54 holes, Far-Arun (Bangkok, Thailand) and Little Rock’s Anna Dawson were tied with a score of 211. Far-Arun had to birdie her 18th hole to finish in the tie and force a sudden-death playoff. After shooting a 75 in the first round, she shot a 68 in the final two rounds.

Both golfers birdied the first hole and parred the next two, to head to the fourth hole. Far-Arun birdied the par-four fourth hole to win her first individual medal as a Lion.

For A&M-Commerce, this is the first individual win in the Division I era and first since Lion alum Sarah Wongsinth’s win at the Ranger Invitational on October 19-20, 2021.

“I am so incredulity proud of Benz and the golfer she’s has grown to be here at A&M-Commerce,” said coach Lise Malherbe. “She showed true grit winning in a four-hole playoff today. It was incredible celebrating her individual win with the team!”

The Lions, as a team, finished 15th this week with a score of 919, while Arkansas State defended its home course with a 12-stroke win over ULM.

Marie Baertz (Rehlingen, Germany) posted a score of 231 (80-76-75), Jordan Dusckas (Flower Mound Marcus) tied for 78th place with a score of 236 (77-79-80), Marie Naeher (Neuenbuerg, Germany) placed 88th with a score of 241 (82-77-82), while Carly Whittington (Kinder, La.) recorded a score of 261 (86-86-89) for 93rd.

The Lions are right back in action next week at the Little Rock Golf Classic on October 23-24.

PosTeamRound 1Round 2Round 3Total
1Arkansas State285290293868
4Little Rock307284297888
6Austin Peay306293293892
8Eastern Kentucky304290300894
9Central Arkansas302298298898
10Morehead State297302301900
11Missouri State302300301903
12North Alabama315299295909
13Texas A&M-Corpus Christi316306293915
14UT Arlington309302306917
16Murray State309307310926
T1*Benz Far-Arun756868211
T63Marie Baertz807675231
T78Jordan Dusckas777980236
88Marie Naeher827782241
93Carly Whittington868689261

*- Winner via four-hole playoff