A&M-Commerce Students Receive Awards at TAMU System Pathways Symposium

Forty-one students from A&M-Commerce recently attended the Texas A&M University System's 14th Annual Pathways Symposium, hosted by Tarleton State University, and thirteen of those received research awards.

The Symposium is open to all Texas A&M University System students, with separate categories for undergraduate, master's and doctoral level research. The Symposium provides students the chance to showcase their research efforts, network with faculty, gain exposure to graduate and post-graduate opportunities, and form lasting collaborative relationships for future research.

First place winners include graduate student Moyosore Odebiyi, in the Business & Computer Information Systems category; graduate student Mengzhe Chen, in the Mathematics category; and graduate student Shiraz Khan, in the Physical Science category.

Second place winners include undergraduate Noor Faisal, in the Agriculture category; graduate student Sona Grigoryan, in the Business & Computer Information Systems category; graduate student Vidhi Goti, in the Education category; and graduate student Nobel Chowdhury, in the Life Science category.

Third place winners include graduate student Ajogu Idoko-Akoh, in the Business & Computer Information Systems category; graduate student Gaurav Dhurandhar, in the Education category; undergraduate Raney Cortez, in the Education category; graduate student Tsitsi Msabaeka, in the Mathematics category; undergraduate Sam Kaiser, in the Physical Science category; and PhD student Jodi Nicholson, in the Humanities and Social Science category.

In order to assist students with their presentations at the 2017 Pathways Symposium, A&M-Commerce also covered the costs of travelling and printing students' posters.

“I'm extremely proud of the work our students are doing,” said Dr. Shonda Gibson, Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness & Research and SACSCOC Accreditation Liaison. “We are facilitating personal and professional development opportunities to students that otherwise might not have the opportunity to participate in events like this.”