Student Testimonials

He Zhang

If I did not come to Commerce, I would have never known how wonderful my future world would be.

Sarah Phillips

I have had an excellent experience in the Math Department here at A&M-Commerce, and am grateful for …

Anna Martinez

I truly feel blessed to be a part of such an amazing group of professionals who care for their stude…

Linh Truong

I believe that math is extremely crucial for developing fields such as bioinformatics, computer scie…

Lauren Melcher

The Department of Mathematics was welcoming and supportive of my goal of pursuing research opportuni…


Be part of our roaring Lion tradition of excellence in mathematics competition.

Math Bowl

Formerly known as the Calculus Bowl, Math Bowl is an annual mathematics competition hosted at the Mathematical Association of America’s Texas Section conference. The Math Club at A&M-Commerce has organized several first, second, and third-place Math Bowl teams in recent years. Read about our history of success at the Math Bowl competition.


The SIMIODE Competition Using Differential Equation Modeling (SCUDEM) is a modeling challenge where student teams choose a challenge problem pertaining to physics and engineering, chemistry and life sciences, or social sciences and humanities. The three-member teams develop a model using differential or difference equations and create a ten-minute video presenting their model. Read about our success at the 2021 SCUDEM competition.

Pathways Student Research Symposium

The Texas A&M University System Pathways Student Research Symposium is a student research showcase open to undergraduate and graduate students from all TAMUS institutions.


The Department of Mathematics offers four awards recognizing outstanding undergraduate and graduate mathematics students.

  • Undergraduate Mathematics
    • 2023: Bjorn J. Strottman
    • 2022: Chris Clark
    • 2021: Mary Hurtado
    • 2020: Nicholas Arsenault
    • 2019: Micalyn Rowe
    • 2018: Lauren Melcher
    • 2017: Anna Martinez
    • 2016: Bradford Garcia
  • Graduate Mathematics
    • 2023: Oluwaseyi (Shey) Igbasanmi
    • 2022: Katherine Foster
    • 2021: Caleb Donnenwerth
    • 2020: Taylor Kline
    • 2019: Ana Martinez
    • 2018: Mengzhe Chen
    • 2017: Laura Beene and Janessa Beach
    • 2016: Rebecca Steward

  • 2023: Jessica Rivera
  • 2022: Sarah Gross
  • 2021: Keynee Johnson
  • 2020: Samantha Trupia
  • 2019: Nicholas Arsenault
  • 2018: Zach Auringer
  • 2017: Dessie McFarland
  • 2016: Arianna Lira

  • 2023: Alexia Neely
  • 2022: Trenna Gillett
  • 2021: Breanna Serna
  • 2020: Ronnie Taylor
  • 2019: Steven Lim
  • 2018: Dessie McFarland
  • 2017: Aidan Corrales
  • 2016: Daniel Rios

News Spotlights

Contact Us

  • P.O. Box 3011
  • Commerce, TX 75429-3011
Navigate This Page