A&M-Commerce Student Researchers Win Big at 15th Annual Pathways Student Research Symposium

Nineteen A&M-Commerce students earned awards for their research presentations at the 15th Annual Pathways Student Research Symposium held at West Texas A&M University in Canyon, Texas, on November 1 and 2.

The symposium is open to all Texas A&M University System students and provides a space for students to present and discuss academic research with faculty, judges and other participants. Students presented their research on posters and in oral presentations. Presentations were judged on organization, preparedness, visual support, oral presentation, quality of research and more.

Natalia Assis, doctoral student in the educational psychology program at A&M-Commerce, has presented at the Pathways Symposium for five years. She described the student-centered event as “a safe space for beginners and advanced researchers to improve their presentation skills.”

Dr. Jennifer Schroeder, associate dean of the Graduate School at A&M-Commerce, agrees. She served as a judge at the Pathways Symposium this year. Schroeder emphasized that the symposium “gives students, both undergraduate and graduate, an opportunity to present their research findings in a low-pressure and constructive environment.” She added that the symposium is a friendly place for students to present their research for the first time.

Schroeder was impressed by the students' research presentations. “The fact that A&M-Commerce students won 19 awards—almost 1/3 of those given—highlights the quality of the work done by faculty and students at A&M-Commerce,” Schroeder said.

Award winners from A&M-Commerce include:

Graduate Winners:

First Place:

Elizabeth Mcelrath, Environmental Science

Priya Biswas, Health Science

Elizabeth Fortner, Life Science

Natasha Astudillo, Mathematics

Cole Galey, Physical Science

Second Place:

Canaan Sutton, Environmental Science

Nahoemi Pablo, Education

Guadalupe Herrera, Health Science

Pipasha Biswas, Life Science

Elisha Shachar, Mathematics

Brianna Douglas, Physical Science

Third Place:

Courtney Clanton, Education

Lauren Balliet, Physical Science

Undergraduate Winners:

First Place:

Micalyn Rowe, Mathematics

Second Place:

Rachel Scarcelli, Education

Monekah Ammouri, Life Science

Jennifer Melendez, Mathematics

Michael Ross, Physical Science

Third Place:

Minerva Mirafuentes, Education