A&M-Commerce University Police Department Honored for Dedicated Service

The Texas A&M University-Commerce Human Resources Department held a recognition ceremony at the Alumni Center on March 6 to honor the University Police Department.

A&M-Commerce President Mark Rudin began the ceremony by expressing his appreciation for each university police officer.

“I've said this before, but when you take care of my family, you take care of me,” Rudin said. “So, I just wanted to thank you very much for doing that.”

The president also acknowledged UPD's excellent work through the difficult experiences that A&M-Commerce has faced this year.

“We've had a tough year,” Rudin said. “There were some tough nights; there were some tough weeks throughout the year. I can't tell you how proud I am of the work I've seen from our police officers up and down the ranks. I want you to know there's no one I'd rather be in the trenches with than you all. So, thank you for everything you do.”

Alicia Currin, vice president for business and administration at A&M-Commerce, also spoke to the group.

“You put your life in danger for all of us,” Currin said. “You put this community above your family every day. You do a job most of us couldn't do. You're strong, and you're brave.”

Currin continued: “To every police officer in this room: Thank you for everything that you do. Thank you for making that choice to protect and serve; thank you for doing what so many of us are not brave enough to do, and thank you for keeping us safe.”

Chief of Police Bryan Vaughn closed the ceremony by addressing his officers.

“We're building a championship team, and we're still growing,” Vaughn said. “We've hired the best of the best, and if you don't meet those criteria, you don't come to our campus.”

The following members of the police department were recognized for their dedicated service:


Chief Bryan Vaughn

Assistant Chief Kyle Lowe

Administrative Support:

Melanie Clayton

Lisa Rudd

Mandy Shaw


Jason Bone

Glen McCull

Sergeant Investigators:

Chad Ballard

Ray Dittrich

Security Officers:

Logan Fountain

Tyler Rogers

Erick Weeks

Communications Officers:

Kimberly Huffman

Jerry House

Justin Hobbs

Jennifer Smith

Patrol Sergeants:

Jason Irwin

Lance Sharp

David Wallace

Patrol Officers:

Kraig Betterton

Chris Davis

William Hall

Chris Nutt

Rodney Sneed

Alejandro Carr

Stephen Douglas

Wayne Hatfield

Harry Patrick

Josh Cato

Will Ford

James Jenkins

Amy Richardson